Zoodles AKA Zucchini Noodles

I don’t know about you, but Zoodles, to me, used to mean a can of animal shaped pasta in tomato sauce. God, I loved those things too. I just loved picking out the different animals and comparing them to the pictures on the can when I was a kid. And Kraft Dinner…don’t get me started, but I digress. It was definitely not a boring lunch affair. Now that I’m older with a slower metabolism (curse you, aging!!) I don’t eat the same ways that I used to. Now, if I were to eat Zoodles, I’d pay for it for the rest of the day from bloat alone!

Screen Shot 2016-08-01 at 2.05.25 PM.png
Which one tastes best?? Lions!

So, sadly (?), I don’t eat canned foods as much anymore. It’s been a definite blessing – and it’s not boring without a can to compare shapes to. Not only do I know exactly what’s in the food I’m eating (which is nice), I make sure that it’s totally full of flavour. We actually had a pre-packaged rice side dish last week (and a salad too) because we were short on time, and I just didn’t like it. It was so bland and boring. And it was supposed to be cheese flavoured! How can cheese be boring??? Milk fat is the tastiest fat!!!

So now, I’m going out on a limb to make sure I try new things and combinations. I’m actually going to start a challenge to myself as well in the next few weeks. It’s super exciting, and will definitely help to get me eating some new things and combinations. Last week, I found an amazing sale for this bad boy – for 20 bucks. Hell yes! I just grabbed some zucchini (though it can do so many vegetables) and started spiralizing.

IMG_20160801_134850
Just keep spinning

It was so fun!!! I felt a bit like a kid when I was spinning the handle and noodles were coming out. It’s the simple things in life for me, clearly. I made ZOODLES! Not the same kind, of course, but it’s such a fun word. So I made some avocado pesto for it and got some chicken breast, sliced it up, and cooked it all together. Dude. Can I tell you how delicious it was?? Let me just say that I did not miss regular pasta. And it makes a bunch of different kinds!

 

I actually like this a lot more than spaghetti squash. They don’t end up being as wet and feel a LOT more substantial to me. They actually stand up to a sauce, whereas the squash gets lost a lot. The Spiralizer is definitely a great investment. I was a bit hesitant because it’s not drawer-sized, and storage in a one-bedroom apartment can be a little tight, but it’s totally worth it.

So, tonight I’m making some Zucchini noodle (Zoodle) Pad Thai. Not going to lie though. I’m going to cheat and buy a sauce. I’m not really good with Thai foods yet, since the first time I had any was only 6 months ago. Results will follow, of course, but I can’t wait to hit this up for my meatless monday!!!

**Featured image courtesy of Get Inspired Everyday Go check it out. Wow!


Leave a Reply

