Healthy Camping Recipe Companion

So, I didn’t want to put everything in my  last Healthy Camping post because it would have just been too long!! If you’re like me, that can be an issue when looking at blogs – like, just GET TO IT already. So I decided to split them so you can find the tips on that post, and the nitty gritty recipes in this one! 🙂

Screen Shot 2016-06-20 at 1.38.12 PM

 

 

The things that I did to accommodate an Elimination diet while camping were a bit more intense than the ones I usually make to take, so if it is suitable for an elimination diet, I will mark it with an (E).

Just a quick reminder too – Things like dips and condiments should go near the top of your food cooler too because you will need them more often than other foods.

 

 

 

So, without further adieu, here are the recipes I used to make it happen while on the road and without a proper fridge:

Screen Shot 2016-06-17 at 2.59.17 PM.png

Pesto Mayo (E)

To begin, THIS is super handy. I love the flavours in this combo with chicken more than almost anything else. I would just make sue you check your teeth after because you may see a green fleck or 2.

  • 4 Tablespoons Vegenaise
  • 1-2 Tablespoon Pesto (You can use Classico if you like, but not appropriate for (E) diet)

To make the Pesto:

Screen Shot 2016-06-17 at 2.47.54 PM.png
From Gluten Free Goddess
  • Basil (or kale if you’re into that)
  • Garlic
  • Pine nuts
  • Olive oil
  • Lemon (Optional)

Gluten Free Goddess has a great pesto recipe that would work for an Elimination Diet. Pesto can have cheese in it, so double-check to make sure it’s ok. This recipe is amazingly simple, and you don’t miss the dairy one bit! Simple is sometimes the best!

IMG_4890.jpg

Smoothie With Greens (E)

So, There are a bunch of ways to do this. Have a look at my smoothie post to see some basics on how to craft your ideal smoothie. Also, you can make ANY of the wonderful recipes over at Simple Green Smoothies, which I LOVE. I make my own up as I go now because I’m pretty much a pro start now, but I definitely follow their handy guide loosely.

Note – I clearly do not own a Vitamix. Those things are amazing and would have made this look like just one colour, but I don’t mind a bit of texture. In this one, there is half an apple, so you can see some peel, but it was so good! I get around this with big, fat straws – Thanks Ikea!!

Remember to make 1 or 2 and freeze so that can can have it as breakfast while doubling as an ice block. When you take it out, shake and slurp! 🙂

Non-Dairy Onion Dip (E)

Thank heavens for non-dairy dairy(?). I don’t know what I would have done without some dip from time to time. So this is what you need for that:

  • Non-dairy cream “cheese”
  • Vegenaise (I used soy-free)
  • onion (1/2 to 1 whole)
  • parsley

So for this dip, I really played around with the consistency and amounts so that it was right. Essentially, the parsley is for colour, so it’s really optional. Play around with this one – if you end up “accidentally” making too much, then you’ll just have extra for the trip! 😉

I hope this helps with your dietary and camping needs. It was definitely a worthwhile challenge!!


Leave a Reply

