10 Summer Breeze(rs) Cocktails

Can you feel it??? It’s getting WARM! I am so excited. There is nothing quite like enjoying a cocktail (or 2) outside with friends while grilling some great and delicious healthy kebabs. NOTHING. This weekend ALSO happens to be Victoria Day weekend – a time where (brave) campers and others will be venturing outside once again to start the weekend vacation year off right. I can’t tell you How excited I am!

The issue with cocktails is usually how high in calories they can be. Well, fear not. I have scoured (read: googled) the inter webs for tasty and healthy wobbly pops for you all to enjoy. In moderation of course?

So here – Skinny Cocktails with No Artificial Sugars!

These drinks do contain at least some refined sugar, but I’m sure you can find an alternative in a more natural source that you can make a non-refined sugar cocktail. Here are some with Agave.

1. California Greyhound

Screen Shot 2016-05-20 at 10.06.48 AM

I had never heard of this drink before, but I can get on board with ANYTHING that is made with red grapefruit.

I used to drink Fresca to get my grapefruit fix, but now that I haven’t had any artificial sugars in forever it just tastes like chemicals to me. I’m sure it’s the same drink as always, I am just SO sensitive to aspartame and its friends that I can’t drink it anymore. Crystal Light? Fugetaboutit!

2. Aperol Spritz

Screen Shot 2016-05-20 at 10.13.46 AM

I am in LOVE with Aperol, which tastes like orange quite a bit. My friends and I mix it with Prosecco and soda water (in whatever amounts make us happy – usually sans soda LOL) with an orange slice for garnish. SO delicious!!

Screen Shot 2016-05-20 at 10.11.33 AM

3. Pink Sapphire 

Screen Shot 2016-05-20 at 10.16.22 AM

Are you sensing a trend?? Sorry to add a second grapefruit cocktail, but I CAN’T HELP MYSELF!

4. Honeydew Citrus Sangria

Screen Shot 2016-05-20 at 10.29.04 AM

Who doesn’t love a nice sangria to share??? By using honeydew and citrus to flavour it (instead of apples or nectarines, etc.) , you will cut down on quite a bit of natural sugars, which will cut some calories.

5. Slushy Watermelon Mojitos

Screen Shot 2016-05-20 at 10.29.53 AM

Mmmmmmmm…melon. There aren’t many things that are more refreshing in the summer than watermelon. I remember as a kid sticking my face in a slice and getting it all over my cheeks! That’s the thing about food – it can transport you. Add alcohol? I am not responsible for where it takes you!

6. Blueberry Lemon Breeze

Screen Shot 2016-05-20 at 10.34.01 AM.png

Not many things DON’T go well with lemon. It’s such a tangy flavour that anything sweet (like a blueberry or even raspberry) compliments it so well!! Try this with some other berries you love too – just make sure you use organic strawberries!

7. Bloody Mary

Screen Shot 2016-05-20 at 10.43.28 AM.png

Skip the pre made tomato juice and make your own to cut out sugar and salt. And have fun with garnishes! A nice shrimp like above will provide some omega-3 fat to round out the cocktail.

Screen Shot 2016-05-20 at 10.59.23 AM

*You could serve some nice shrimp  with the homemade dipping sauces here on a hot, sunny afternoon. I’d definitely come over to your house!

Just sub goat cheese for cream cheese, and greek yogurt for mayo in each dip recipe. Nice way to jazz up shrimp dipping! If you would like, you can even make your own ketchup for the cocktail sauce too!

Greek yogurt has WAY more protein and less fat than cream cheese. In a dip like this, the different flavour should work just fine.

 

8. Pimm’s Cup

Screen Shot 2016-05-20 at 11.25.44 AM

So refreshing! Add tequila and Cointreau to give a Mexican flair with lime instead of lemons. Just don’t forget the baked sweet potato nachos and pass the guac!

9. Champagne Pomegranate Cocktail

Screen Shot 2016-05-20 at 11.22.29 AM

Don’t ya just love incorporating super foods in their boozy escapades? It’s hard to believe this is only 125 cals a glass!

10. Skinny Beer-garita

Screen Shot 2016-05-20 at 11.20.46 AM

I LOVE that the lime aid used here is homemade with stevia. And, I mean, I couldn’t have a drink list without beer, right??


Leave a Reply

